Columbus REALTORS® 2017 Annual Award honorees

During Columbus REALTORS® annual Awards celebration on 4/12/17, six central individuals were honored for their outstanding commitment to the real estate profession and to the central Ohio community. 

As only one award is made annually in each category, this esteemed honor is recognized as a sign of excellence throughout the real estate industry.

Event pictures

John Royer, 2017 Broker of the Year
John Royer is president of Kohr Royer Griffin, a commercial real estate firm in central Ohio, and has been a member of Columbus REALTORS since 1987. He is a member of the Counselors of Real Estate (CRE), Society of Industrial and Office REALTORS® (SIOR), and of the International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC). 

In 2016, he served as president of Columbus REALTORS® and was the fifth person to serve in this capacity from his company. 

Royer currently serves on Columbus REALTORS® Board of Directors, the MLS Board of Directors and is a member of the CORPAC Governing Board. He also sits on the Columbus REALTORS® Board of Consultants, and on the Budget, Finance & Investments, CORPAC Steering and Governmental Affairs Steering committees, and is a member of the Foundation Advisory Board.

Royer’s community and civic activities include serving as chair of the Board of Directors of Community Housing Network – a nonprofit organization providing housing and housing resources for people who are homeless or facing homelessness, and as a Columbus Regional Member of First Merchants Bank.

Kathy Shiflet, 2017 Salesperson of the Year
Kathy Shiflet is a sales associate with Coldwell Banker King Thompson and has been a member of Columbus REALTORS® since 1996. She holds the Accredited Buyer Representative (ABR) and the Senior Real Estate Specialist (SRES) designations, and she is a past president of Columbus REALTORS® and a former member of its Board of Directors.

Shiflet serves as a trustee of the Columbus REALTORS® Foundation and is a Charter Member of the Leadership Academy class of 2012. She has co-chaired the Foundation Fundraising and Communication committees, served on the Foundation Advisory Board and as a member of the Benevolence, CORPAC Fundraising, Governmental Affairs, and KeyBox committees. 

She is a Columbus REALTORS® Twenty-Five Million Sales Award Club member and a recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Shiflet is also a past president of the Hilliard Area Realty Association, and a Life Member of the Hilliard Darby Athletic Boosters, member of the Hilliard School District Levy Committee, an American Red Cross and Habitat for Humanity donor, a volunteer with Columbus Marathon and a supporter of the American Cancer Society and the Coldwell Banker Foundation Fund.

Hugh Dorrian, Columbus City Auditor, 2017 Citizen of the Year
Auditor Dorrian became Treasurer of the City of Columbus in 1966 and three years later was appointed City Auditor. After more than 50 years, he's still walking into his wood-paneled office and sitting down to work among his binders, adding machine and a 46-star flag that was last official when William Howard Taft was president.

Under Auditor Dorrian's leadership, the City Auditor's Office has received the Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting from the Government Finance Officers Association of United States and Canada for 35 consecutive years.

He’s the recipient of numerous individual awards, including the Borromean Medal for Distinguished Alumni Achievement from St Charles Preparatory School; Outstanding Local Public Service Award from the School of Public Policy and Management at The Ohio State University; the Ethics in Government Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Ohio Government Finance Officers’ Association; and the Minority/Female Business Advocate Award from City of Columbus Equal Business Opportunity Department.

Dorrian was inducted into the City of Columbus Hall of Fame in 2012 and, in 2014, was a National Management Association Hall of Fame recipient.

Marie Smith, 2017 Affiliate of the Year
Marie Smith, Director of Sales for Kingdom Title Columbus, began her career in the title industry as a receptionist in 1996, and was promoted within six months to the title department, then to processing in 1998 and to sales in 2002. She was instrumental in bringing the Kingdom Title brand to Columbus in 2015.

Smith has been a Columbus REALTORS® member for three years and currently serves on the Central Ohio REALTORS® Political Action (CORPAC) Committee, the Foundation Fundraising Committee; and is a past co-chair of the Columbus REALTORS® Blood Drive Committee and a past member of the Builder/ REALTOR® Alliance Committee. She has also been a REALTOR® Care Day participant since 2005.

Smith is an active member of the Greater Dublin and Hilliard area realty associations and a past member of the Columbus Southwest Area Realty Association. 

In the community, she volunteers with the American Red Cross, Life Care Alliance and Meals on Wheels. She also has served on the Grove City Chamber Board of Directors; volunteered with the Short North Business Association Gallery Hop; and served as a volunteer with the Beacon Elementary PTA and a parent volunteer with the Hilliard Bears Rugby team.

Nickie Evans, 2017 Rising Star of the Year
Nickie Evans is a sales associate with Coldwell Banker King Thompson and has been a member of Columbus REALTORS® since May 2015. 

In her short tenure in real estate, Evans has earned membership in Columbus REALTORS® Million Dollar Sales Award Club, is a member of the Coldwell Banker King Thompson’s 2016 Suite 16 Club and of its 2015 Rising Star Club, and she is Smart Home Certified. 

Evans currently serves as a member of the Columbus REALTORS® Recognition & Sales Awards Committee and is the Coldwell Banker King Thompson Regional Representative for the Sales Advisory Committee. 

In the community, Evans has served as head coach of Girls on the Run, is a member of the Stevenson Elementary Parent Teacher Organization, Edison Intermediate Parent Teacher Organization and a Junior Achievement (Biz Town) volunteer. She is also a sponsor of the Grandview Baseball/Softball Association.

Evans is an active member of the Northwest Area Realty Association and a former member of the North Area, Greater Dublin and Greater Worthington area real estate associations.

Sherry Courtney, 2016 Joseph L. MacKinnon Instructor of the Year 

Sherry Courtney is a licensed, full-time real estate professional with Sibcy Cline, REALTORS® in Cincinnati Ohio and has over 30 years of experience in commercial and residential real estate. 

Since 2013, Courtney has been a certified REALTOR® Property Resource instructor and began teaching the one-hour RPR course for Columbus REALTORS® in 2016. She also teaches the series, “Using Your iPad as a Business Tool” course (Basic, Intermediate and Advance) several times a year. 

For the Cincinnati Area Board of REALTORS®, Courtney has served on the Midwest Tech Summit Committee, the Lawyer Committee and on the Business Technology Committee. 

Courtney is owner and CEO of The Courtney Enterprises Center (The CE Center), and teaches classes at the Cincinnati Area Board of REALTORS®, Northern Kentucky Association of REALTORS®, Sibcy Cline, REALTORS®, and for REALTORS® Property Resource -- a subsidiary of the National Association of REALTORS® (NAR).
Courtney currently volunteers for the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation.

Columbus REALTORS® is central Ohio’s largest professional association, representing more than 7,500 real estate professionals.

Event pictures